The Best FIFA Awards 2016 Full List Of Winners

The Best FIFA Awards 2016 Full List Of Winners

The Best FIFA Awards 2016 Full List Of Winners

The Best FIFA Awards, the world football governing body has brought their own “The Best FIFA Football award” starting for the calendar year 2016. The ceremony which took place on Monday Night, 09 January 2017 at the FIFA headquarters in Zurich, Switzerland. Where a number of awards given out on the night which include men and women best footballer of the year, coach of the year and FIFA Puskas (best goal of the year) awards.

Cristiano Ronaldo received FIFA’s best player award for the fourth time on Monday, after Portugal and Real Madrid won both major European titles in 2016. He beat runner-up and great rival Lionel Messi and Antoine Griezmann to complete a sweep of top individual awards. “2016 was the best year of my career,” Ronaldo said in Portuguese in his acceptance speech, which he began by exclaiming “Wow, wow, wow.”

Ronaldo got 34.54 percent of total voting points in a 23-candidate ballot. Messi received 26.42 percent, and third-place Griezmann got 7.53 percent. Voting was by national team captains and coaches, selected media, and fans online.
Ronaldo’s fourth FIFA award closed the gap on five-time winner Messi, the runner-up to each Ronaldo victory, who did not attend the ceremony. Ronaldo’s 2016 trophy haul included the European Championship, Champions League, and Club World Cup, plus individual best player awards from UEFA and France Football magazine. Messi’s Barcelona won the Spanish league and cup double, though he captained Argentina to lose the Copa America final.
Griezmann’s France and Atletico Madrid lost both finals to Ronaldo’s teams.

Ronaldo’s coaches for club and country were beaten by Leicester manager Claudio Ranieri, who earned the men’s coaching prize for a stunning English Premier League title. “What happened last year was something strange. The God of football said Leicester must win,” said Ranieri, who was in his first season at the unfashionable provincial club widely tipped for relegation.

Ranieri collected his trophy from Diego Maradona, who earlier Monday played in an exhibition match with other retired greats at FIFA headquarters.

Like Ronaldo, Carli Lloyd of the United States won a FIFA player prize for the second year in a row. Lloyd won despite Germany midfielder Melanie Behringer playing on the Olympic gold medal-winning team. Five-time winner Marta was runner-up and Behringer was third.
“I honestly was not expecting this,” Lloyd said. “I know Melanie did fantastic in the 2016 Olympics.”

Germany did win the women’s coaching prize as Silvia Neid earned her second FIFA prize, after also winning the 2010 award. Neid beat two previous winners: Pia Sundhage of Sweden, the Olympic silver medalist, and last year’s winner, Jill Ellis of the United States.

The Puskas Award for best goal was won by Mohd Faiz Subri, who scored with a wildly swerving long-range free kick for Malaysian club Penang.

A players’ vote organized by international union FIFPro gave a World XI of: Manuel Neuer (Germany, Bayern Munich); Dani Alves (Brazil, Barcelona/Juventus), Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid), Gerard Pique (Spain, Barcelona), Marcelo (Brazil, Real Madrid); Toni Kroos (Germany, Real Madrid), Andres Iniesta (Spain, Barcelona), Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid); Luis Suarez (Uruguay, Barcelona), Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid).

The First FIFA fan award was chosen by fans and was made to supporters of Liverpool and Borussia Dortmund, who joined in singing the English club’s anthem “You’ll Never Walk Alone” before a Europa League quarterfinal. The other nominees were Iceland fans at Euro 2016, and Dutch club ADO Den Haag, whose fans brought soft toys to children supporting rival team Feyenoord.

FIFA made its Fair Play Award to Atletico Nacional, the Colombian club which was scheduled to host Chapecoense in the first leg of the Copa Sudamericana final on Nov. 30.
After most of the Brazilian team died in a plane crash flying to the match, Atletico Nacional asked the South American soccer confederation to present the title and trophy to Chapecoense.

Atletico Nacional fans held tributes in support of Chapecoense, Colombian sideAtletico Nacionalwere given the fair play award for their part in the aftermath of the plane crash which killed 19 players and staff of Brazilian side Chapecoense. Chapecoense were en route to play the first leg of their Copa Sudamericana final when the plane crashed, killing 71 people. Atletico Nacional said the title should be awarded to Chapecoense. Fifa recognised their “spirit of peace, understanding and fair play”.

The Best FIFA Awards 2016 Full List Of Winners

FIFPro World XI (11 players)
Real Madrid (5 players)
Barcelona (4 players)
Juventus (1 player)
Bayern Munich (1 player)

This is a players’ vote organized by International Union FIFPro gave a World XI of;
(I) Manuel Neuer (Germany, Bayern Munich).
(II) Dani Alves (Brazil, Barcelona/Juventus).
(III) Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid).
(IV) Gerard Pique (Spain, Barcelona).
(V) Marcelo (Brazil, Real Madrid).
(VI) Toni Kroos (Germany, Real Madrid).
(VII) Andres Iniesta (Spain, Barcelona).
(VIII) Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid).
(IX) Luis Suarez (Uruguay, Barcelona).
(X) Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona).
(XI) Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid).

Note: No Premier League players were included.

Best FIFA Men’s Player
Cristiano Ronaldo: 34.54% of total votes (WINNER)
Lionel Messi: 26.42%
Antoine Greizmann: 7.53%

Best FIFA Women’s Player
Carli Lloyd: 20.68% of total votes (WINNER)
Marta: 16.60%
Melanie Behringer: 12.34%

Best Men’s Coach
Claudio Ranieri: 22.6% of total votes (WINNER)
Zinédine Zidane: 16.56%
Fernando Santos: 16.24%

Best Women’s Coach
Silvia Neid: 29.99% of total votes (WINNER)
Jill Ellis: 16.68%
Pia Sundhage: 16.47%

Puskas Award (Best Goal)
Mohd Faiz Subri: 59.46% of total votes (WINNER)
Marlone: 22.86%
Daniuska Rodriguez: 10.01%
Others: 7.68%

Fan Award
Borussia Dortmund and Liverpool supporters: 45.92% of total votes (WINNER)
Iceland supporters: 31.37%
ADO Den Haag supporters: 22.71%

Fair Play Award
Atletico Nacional
Colombian side Atletico Nacional were given the fair play award for their part in the aftermath of the plane crash which killed 19 players and staff of Brazilian side Chapecoense.

696 total views, 1 views today


Your "Name" and "Comment" Below...