Cristiano Ronaldo Wins 2016 Ballon D’Or France Football Award

Cristiano Ronaldo Wins 2016 Ballon D’Or France Football Award

Cristiano Ronaldo Wins 2016 Ballon D’Or France Football Award

Cristiano Ronaldo wins fourth Ballon d’Or as he beats Lionel Messi to award as Jamie Vardy and Gareth Bale make top 10. Ronaldo beats Messi to win Ballon d’Or as Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi have now won the past nine Ballon d’Or awards between them, Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo beat rival Lionel Messi to win the prestigious Ballon d’Or award for a fourth time.

The 31-year-old is now one behind Barcelona’s Messi, who took the honour for a fifth time last year. Atletico Madrid’s French forward Antoine Griezmann finished third in the vote. Ronaldo helped Real Madrid win last season’s Champions League and scored three goals as Portugal won Euro 2016.

He has now won the Ballon d’Or in 2008, 2013, 2014 and 2016, with Messi the only other recipient of the award since winning it for the first time in 2009.

“I never thought in my mind that I would win the Golden Ball four times. I am pleased. I feel so proud and happy,” said Ronaldo.

“I have the opportunity to thank all of my team-mates, the national team, Real Madrid, all of the people and players who helped me to win this individual award.”

The former Manchester United forward has scored 19 goals in 20 games for club and country this term, to add to the 54 he got last season.

Ronaldo’s Real Madrid team-mate Gareth Bale finished sixth in the vote, while Leicester City striker Jamie Vardy – the only Englishman included on the 30-player shortlist – was eighth.
The Ballon d’Or is voted for by 173 journalists from around the world.

It has been awarded by France Football every year since 1956, but for the past six years it became the Fifa Ballon d’Or in association with world football’s governing body and was awarded to the world’s best player.
However, Fifa ended its association with the award in September.

Fifa will hand out its own prize for the world’s best men’s player, along with the best women’s player and team of the year, at the Best Fifa Football Awards ceremony in Zurich on 9 January.

Cristiano Ronaldo has won the 2016 Ballon D’OR award. France Football confirmed his as the winner of this year’s award ahead of Lionel Messi and Antoine Griezmann. 200 respected football journalists voted their top three players from 30-man shortlist where Ronaldo came on top with majority vote as number 1 pick.

Ronaldo finished top of the voting while Lionel Messi and Antoine Griezmann makes the top three respectively. Luis Suarez and Neymar makes the top 5. Gareth Bale, Riyad Mahrez, Jamie Vardy, Pepe and Gianluigi Buffon makes the top 10 list.

This is the time of the year when discussion about who will win “Ballon d’Or” begins and FranceFootball has already revealed the shortlist of 30 men who will be contesting for this year’s title. The 2016 Ballon Dor award will revert back to the orignal Ballon d’Or after they terminated their contract with FIFA and from now on it will only be known as Ballon d’Or. Unlike the previous 5 years where the winner was decided with the help of votes from national team coaches and captain, from now on only respected pool of football journalists will vote for this prestigious award. ceremony will be taking place on Monday, 09 January 2017 and there won’t be any 3-man shortlist before the winner is announced.

441 total views, 2 views today


Your "Name" and "Comment" Below...